A Millennial's Guide to Saving the World
A Millennial's Guide to Saving the World
#70 Drama of the Gifted Millennial: A Solo Episode
0:00
-1:30:19

#70 Drama of the Gifted Millennial: A Solo Episode

It's been a while since I've done a solo episode, but I had an epiphany I felt called to share. In this episode I speak about my evolving relationship to four classic millennial stereotypes - that we're triggered, sensitive, lazy and entitled, and examine them through the lens of multivalence, nuanced thinking and Alice Miller's "Drama of the Gifted Child". While at first I rejected these stereotypes, I have since evolved my relationship to them. I question whether it's not better to embrace and redefine characteristics, rather than reject them outright and why embracing the multiplicitous expression of an archetype can lead to a more honest and comprehensive understanding of ourselves and others.

Song featured: "The Old Story" by Trevor Hall

How to support the show:

Rate, review and subscribe to the podcast on iTunes!

Support my work on Patreon and get access to perks like an exclusive WhatsApp group chat & book club just for patrons!

Visit my website - AnyaKaats.com & Find me on Instagram

0 Comments
A Millennial's Guide to Saving the World
A Millennial's Guide to Saving the World
I started this podcast because I was tired of being stereotyped as lazy, triggered and entitled. I wanted to give voice to a different kind of millennial and invite us to write a new story - one of a generation willing to challenge the status quo, embrace nuance and paradox, and reject PC-culture. This podcast isn’t about finding answers, it’s about asking the right questions. How can we reinvent ourselves and the narratives we’ve been expected to inherit? How can we take ownership over the ways we participate in our own suffering? How can we move beyond victimization and into empowerment? How can we fix ourselves to fix the world? It’s time for new dreams, new stories and new futures…